Freedom Bowl2018-01-22T20:50:54+00:00
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories

Freedom Bowl Classic

The finale for the best Black college football players, the all-star classic  began as a venue for MEAC, SWAC, SIAC and CIAA seniors. The 1984 game featured future NFL Hall of Fame great Jerry Rice

Commissioners Ken Free , founder (MEAC) and James Frank (SWAC) 

SWAC 36, MEAC 22
Offensive Player of the Game (SWAC)
RB Sylvester Stamps, Jackson State
Defensive Player  of the Game (MEAC)
NG R.C. Eason, Florida A&M
Most Valuable Player
QB Harold Smith, Texas Southern

Defensive Player  of the Game (SWAC)
SS Leon Thomasson, Texas Southern
Most Valuable Player (SWAC)
TE Calvin Magee, Southern
Offensive  Player of the Game (MEAC)
RB Reggie Rucker, Bethune-Cookman
Defensive co-Player of the Game (MEAC/CIAA)
LB Sam Groomes, Virginia Union