COLLEGE PROFILES2018-03-17T21:37:28+00:00

Conferences & Schools

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories

Fisk University






Mississippi Valley State University

Conference profiles, historical origins and present day configurations.  Institutions include those who were charter members of each conference whether active or defunct.

Black College Conferences - Current Members


Northern Division
Bowie State University              
Chowan University                          
Elizabeth City State University            
Lincoln University, PA                        
Virginia State University                         
Virginia Union University                        
Southern Division
Fayetteville State University            
Johnson C. Smith University                
Livingstone College                   
St. Augustine’s College                     
Shaw University                        
Winston-Salem State University        

East Division                        
Albany State University                 
Benedict College                            
**- Claflin College                                     

Morehouse College                  
Morris Brown College            
Paine College                                       
West Division                                
Kentucky State University 
Lane College                              
LeMoyne-Owen College                          
Miles College                                        
Stillman College                              
Tuskegee University                     
Central State University, Ohio*

** moving to CIAA 2018

Bethune Cookman College

University of Arkansas Pine Bluff

Xavier University, New Orleans

North Division
Coppin State University                    
Delaware State University                               www.desu.ed
*Hampton University    
Howard University                           
Maryland Eastern Shore University  
Morgan State University                 
Norfolk State University            
South Division                                
Bethune-Cookman University     
Florida A&M University                       
North Carolina A&T University            
North Carolina Central University      
Savannah State University 
South Carolina State University          

*=moving to Southern Conf. 2018

East Division                     
Alabama A&M University                   
Alabama State University                   
Alcorn State University                      
Jackson State University                  
Mississippi Valley State University   
West Division                                
University of Arkansas Pine Bluff      
Grambling State University                 
Prairie View A&M University            
Southern University & A&M College   
Texas Southern University                     

Black College Conferences - Active/Defunct

Gulf Coast Athletic Conference 
Dillard University                                
Edward Waters College                         
Fisk University                                         
Talladega College                         
Xavier University, LA                              

Red River AC               
Langston University                       
*Paul Quinn College                               
Huston -Tillotson University                            
Texas College                          
Wiley College                                      

Bluefield State College         
West Virginia State University     

Bennett College                               
Oakwood University                     


Lincoln University, MO

Bishop College  1881-1988

Midwestern Intercollegiate Athletic Association                                                                          
Lincoln University, MO                    

Ohio Valley Conference            
Tennessee State University             

NAIA Division I
Allen University
Knoxville College              

Morris College                                    

NAIA Division III
Rust College                               
Wilberforce University

Voorhees College                         

Eastern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
South Eastern Athletic Conference                              Midwest Conference
Leland College     1870-1960
Bishop College     1881-1988
Saint Paul’s College 1888-2013