Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories


The Black college members listed are among 987 palers and 214 coaches who have been inducted from nearly 5.19 million who have played or coached over the past 148 years. The William V. Campbell Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards.


Name                                  School                                  Position                    Inducted

Ben Stevenson                  Tuskegee Institute                Halfback                     2003
Buck Buchanan                 Grambling State                    Defensive End           1996
Donnie Shell                       South Carolina State            Defensive Back         1998
Doug Williams                   Grambling State                    Quarterback               2001
Emerson Boozer               Maryland-Eastern Shore      Halfback                     2010
Gary Johnson                    Grambling State                    Defensive End           1997
Harry Carson                     South Carolina State             Linebacker                 2002
Jerry Rice                           Mississippi Valley State       Wide Receiver            2006
Joe Kendall                        Kentucky State                      Quarterback               2007
Kevin Dent                         Jackson State                        Wide Receiver            2006
Leo Lewis                           Lincoln, MO                            Halfback                     2005
Paul “Tank” Younger         Grambling State                    Halfback                     2000
Roger Brown                      Maryland-Eastern Shore      Defensive End            2009
Walter Payton                    Jackson State                       Halfback                     1999
Willie Galimore                  Florida A&M                           Halfback                     1999
Willie Lanier                       Morgan State                         Linebacker                 2000
Willie Richardson              Jackson State                       Wide Receiver            2003
Willie Totten                       Mississippi Valley State      Quarterback               2005
Harry Carson                      South Carolina State           Defensive End            2002
Tyrone McGriff                   Florida A&M                          Guard                          1996
Art Shell                              Maryland Eastern Shore      Offensive Tackle       2010


Name                                    School                                            Year Inducted

Earl Banks                            Morgan State                                      1992
Marino Casem                     Alabama State, Alcorn State
                                               Southern                                               2003 
Jake Gaither                        Florida A&M                                         1975
W.C. Gordon                        Jackson State                                      2008
Willie Jeffries                      South Carolina State,Howard,
                                              Wichita State                                        2010
Billy Joe                                Cheyney State, Central State, Ohio,
                                               Florida A&M, Lane                              2007 
Vernon “Skip” McCain       Maryland State                                     2006 
John Merritt                        Jackson State, Tennessee State      1994
Ace Mumford                      Jarvis Christian, Bishop,
                                              Texas College, Southern                     2001 
Billy J. Nicks                        Prairie View A&M                                1999
Doug Porter                         Mississippi Valley State,
                                               Howard, Ft Valley State                     2008 
Eddie Robinson                   Grambling State                                 1997